<-- Digital window verification 001 --> Single | Counteract | National News with a Local Edge | Counteract is a Birmingham based music magazine covering the latest and best news, reviews and interviews.

Articles Posted in the Single Category

  • Speedy Ortiz

    Single: Speedy Ortiz – Raising The Skate

    Speedy Ortiz have announced a brand new album under the title of ‘Foil Deer,’ and the first song to emerge is easily one of the most impressive tracks to come out in 2015 so far.

  • Faith

    FAITH – Waves

    The good thing about ‘Waves’ is FAITH are creating their own identity, eschewing British brawn in favour of intricate, lovelorn melodies. It certainly bodes well for the future.

  • Noel

    Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds – In The Heat of the Moment

    Building on a laconic guitar lick, it pulsates along on a shamelessly catchy “nah, nah, nah, nah” motif before Noel’s soothing vocals sweep up the refrain.

  • Screen Shot 2014-07-04 at 19.19.38

    Single: Garden – Blind Viper

    Raw, riotous, and exhaustively riveting, ‘Blind Viper’ is the song that you never knew you were waiting for.

  • Single: Jaws – Be Slowly

    On a triple news day from local favourites Jaws, the band announced upcoming release of their long-awaited debut album Be Slowly on September 15

  • Single: EKKAH – 7AM

    EKKAH’s debut demo is furiously feel good and bang on time for bumping its way onto your already busy summer playlists

  • horrors

    Single: The Horrors – So Now You Know

    If what they’ve put out from it so far is to serve as a clear indicator, Luminous is set to be The Horrors at their dreamiest yet.

  • Cellar Door

    Single: Babypink – Cellar Door

    Bursting with a raw energy and intensity, it’s hard to find fault in ‘Cellar Door.’

  • Laced

    Single: Laced – Brian

    Twinkling into life, the tracks driving rhythms and vibrant layers of guitars waste no time capturing your attention.

  • Split Single: Comanechi + Female Smell – H.A.T.E / Payday Loans

    London based Comanechi and Birmingham’s Female Smell are set to release a limited edition 7” split AA side on October 8 2013