<-- Digital window verification 001 --> Album | Counteract | National News with a Local Edge | Counteract is a Birmingham based music magazine covering the latest and best news, reviews and interviews.

Articles Posted in the Album Category

  • Album: Florence + The Machine – How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful

    With it’s name deriving from Florence Welch’s perception of the

  • Album: Young Kato – Don’t Wait ‘Til Tomorrow

    Indie has become word which, all too often, acts as a kind of dismissal. Or a nebulous,

  • Album: The Cribs – For All My Sisters

    For All My Sisters may not elevate The Cribs into the ‘big time’, but that’s never been the Jarmans’ ambition.

  • Album: Chon – Grow

    On the back of three albums in two years, Chon have found themselves nestled into a curiously underpopulated pocket of instrumental prog-rock that you can relax to

  • Album: Modest Mouse – Strangers To Ourselves

    When a Modest Mouse album comes out, it’s the title that grips you.

  • Album: Vessels – Dilate

    ‘Dilate’ remains a triumph for newly-born Vessels and is surely the beginning of a fantastic foray into untapped territory for the band.

  • Album: Kodaline – Coming Up For Air

    A mere year and a half since their chart-topping debut album, Irish four-piece Kodaline have returned with their second offering Coming Up For Air.

  • sonichighways

    Foo Fighters – Sonic Highways

    Once again, Foos have made a sterling, hook-laden album perfect for that next arena tour.

  • weezer

    Weezer – Everything Will Be Alright In The End

    The four-piece may not harness the tortured soul of Pinkerton, but with songs like the blistering ‘Ain’t Got Nobody’ and the gently chugging ‘Cleopatra’, they’ve finally arrested the decline that was in danger of tainting their legacy.

  • superfood

    Superfood – Don’t Say That

    If you were given a copy of Superfood’s new record, bereft of album details and year of production, you’d be hard-pressed to guess just which era this has emerged from; doffing their caps to yesterbaggy, Britpop and everything in between, the Birmingham band’s long-awaited debut album is a delightful collection of wobbly pop and infectious, sun-drenched hooks.